Core Permissions Requested by Safety Apps and How to Set Them

AllsWell Team

Table of contents:

 

To back you up every day, personal safety apps need free access to various device functions. But you shouldn't bother about privacy or push notifications. These mobile products are unobtrusive helpers until an emergency occurs and it's time to act. Besides, developers care about customers' privacy – the legal agreement announces that apps don't share location data or medical records with third-party organizations.

Read this article to learn how to manage safety app permission settings on Android and iOS. It will give extra insights into the connection between permissions and emergency reporting features.

Why Do Personal Safety Apps Request Permissions?

Personal safety applications guard you in emergencies and need ways to inform selected contacts you are in trouble. They will only know who to notify if they have access to contacts. Similarly, an app must check your location to detect where you are in critical situations to alert your friends or family. Thus, by giving access permissions to a personal safety app, you ensure its stable and reliable work.

Of course, some permissions aren't mandatory, so you can turn them off for personal data security. You must also check how the chosen application handles collected information before using it. If it tracks your location 24/7 in real-time and collects unnecessary details, you should download a more privacy-friendly app.

Core App Permissions for Personal Safety Trackers

When you install an app for the first time, it typically requests an access contact list, SMS, email, and location services. These are a must for applications that provide personal GPS tracking and notify your family and colleagues in emergencies.

Particular safety apps might go beyond that and require access to a smartphone microphone, camera, phone calls, memory, and even flashlight. If you're still asking yourself "what app permissions should I allow and why," let's specify their purpose.

Contacts & SMS Messages

Apps require email addresses, phone numbers, and SMS service to send messages to emergency contacts. SMS messages usually only notify people that someone they know is in trouble. They don't provide your addressee with the details of your location. Such messages are a reliable way to attract someone's attention and make the recipient check if the related person needs help.

Devices running on Android 12 and higher may attach the link for real-time GPS tracking to SMS. It's an option in some native iOS and Android SOS features.

Location Tracking

A location tracking permission allows personal safety apps to access the GPS data of the user's phone. Geoposition coordinates are crucial for relatives, caregivers, or other trained responders to come to the person in an emergency. The shared location will direct them straight to the user.

Safety apps use geo data for:

  • Real-time location tracking when the user's phone becomes a beacon device

  • Detecting whether a person remains within geo-fence (often required for parental control of kids' safety)

  • Sharing the position on Google Maps or Apple Maps after SOS alerts are activated

Therefore, when you're questioning yourself "what app permissions should I allow" you should decide on it depending on the necessity of a particular feature.

Camera & Microphone

Some advanced safety applications can launch video or audio recordings. In particular cases, it is better than activating SOS messaging by pressing a panic button.

After uploading the recordings to the secured cloud storage, authorized people can check them anytime. The police can use them later as evidence of a crime, so you'll have solid proof in case of a lawsuit. 

Flashlight

Apps can use a flashlight to produce visual signals. It comes in handy if you're waiting for help while getting lost on hiking. However, using your smartphone as an SOS beacon is rather battery-consuming. We strongly recommend using default SOS alert features in areas with cellular coverage. Alternatively, you may get a personal locator beacon to reach out to rescue service in the backcountry. Check out more hiking safety tips in our previous article.

Motion Sensors 

Monitoring of motion sensors is at the heart of fall detection algorithms. They are used in emergency apps designed for the elderly.

Despite the popularity of wearable medical alert devices like bracelets or smartwatches, modern safety alert apps can detect falls without them. If you give such Android app permissions to monitor splashes of motion sensor activities, it will identify accidental slips and tip-overs to request help.

What Permissions Does AllsWell Alert Require? 

AllsWell Alert app permission settings are super easy, even for inexperienced mobile users. It only requires access to Contacts and Location Service whether you run the app on an Android or iOS.

Check the following guide with screenshots to get a better understanding of an AllsWell Alert app permission setting. 

How To Enable the Required Permissions in AllsWell Alert?

First, you need to go to Google Play or AppStore and download the latest version of AllsWell Alert. After the installation, proceed to sign up.

Setting Up Permissions on Android 10 or Higher

1. When in the app, fill out the user credentials such as first and last name, phone number in 11-digit format, and personal email.

2. Then, you'll be offered to assign a first emergency contact. To do that, fill in the necessary contact information.

3. Next step is choosing AllsWell's subscription plan. You can use AllsWell's trial version for a 30-day free period before going to a paid subscription. Also, you can cancel the subscription at any moment from your Google Play account.

4. The next step is to set permissions for the app.

IT'S IMPORTANT!

Usually, you must set Location access to 'ALWAYS ALLOW' for stable app performance. AllsWell cares about your privacy and battery level, so it transmits geo position only every 5 min. The application doesn't store your entire location history.

5. Go to Settings > Apps > AllsWell > App Info > Permissions. Switch on the necessary permissions.

Congratulations! How your AllsWell safety app is ready and running!

On iPhone (iOS13)

The steps to set permissions on iOS devices are almost the same as on Android. After app installation, you enter your phone number and email and assign a reliable person as your initial emergency contact. After that, you choose a subscription plan to your taste and proceed to permission confirmation.

Note that options for Location Services on iOS13 differ from Android 10. To ensure the proper performance of AllsWell Alert, you must choose the 'Allow While Using App' option. If you ever need to switch off/on the permissions, go to Settings, find AllsWell in a list of installed software, and change the settings.

Enjoy Simplicity of Use and Data Security with AllsWell Alert!

If you want a reliable but privacy-friendly emergency safety app, try AllsWell Alert. For $9.99 per month, you get the personal safety tracking product for all ages. It's effortless to set up and requests only necessary permissions.

Plus, AllsWell ensures top-notch privacy and data protection. Unlike products from unauthorized developers that often turn up to be malicious apps, AllsWell is tested and approved as safe to use.

Download it from Google Play Store or AppStore now with a 30-day trial.

Start your free 30 day trial in 3 easy steps

Start your free trial

¢33/day or less after that

Try for free